Who’s who: the launch of the National Infrastructure Commission Wales

Cardiff Station small.jpg

On Thursday 1 November, the members of the newly formed National Infrastructure Commission Wales (NICW) met for the first time.

Made up of 12 members and headed by John Lloyd Jones OBE, the National Infrastructure Commission Wales was established by the Welsh Government under Cabinet Secretary Ken Skates to support independent and better-informed advice on a longer-term strategy for infrastructure investment across Wales.

The Commission has been established as a non-statutory, advisory body to provide advice to Welsh Ministers on the economic and environmental infrastructure needs of Wales over the next 30 years (including energy, transport, water, drainage digital communications and flood management), enshrining the goals and principles of the Future Generations (Wales) Act 2015.

Speaking of the creation of the Commission, Economy and Transport Secretary Ken Skates AM said: “I am delighted to appoint a group of commissioners with such expertise and experience. I look forward to receiving their advice and am convinced they will make a major contribution to Wales’ well-being through improved infrastructure.”

John Lloyd Jones OBE the newly appointed Chair of the NICW said: “We look forward to making a substantial contribution to Wales’ long-term infrastructure development.”

The membership of the Commission is as follows:

·       John Lloyd Jones OBE (Chair) – Member of the External Advisory Board of the Institute of Biological, Environmental and Rural Science at Aberystwyth University and former planning inspector

·       Professor Tom Crick – Professor of Digital, Data, Education and Policy at Swansea University

·       Ceri Doyle – Chief Executive of Newport City Homes

·       Stephen Gifford – Head of Economic Regulation at Civil Aviation Authority

·       Helen Howells – Senior Community Partnerships Officer for Natural Resources Wales

·       Rob Irvine – Former editor of the North Wales Daily Post

·       Professor Roderick Smith – Research Professor of Railway Engineering at Imperial College London

·       Chris Sutton – Director at property firm JLL

·       Emma Thomas – Director, Constructing Excellence in Wales and Adviser to the Future Generations Commissioner for Wales

·       Tom Wharf – Senior Engineer at JBA Consulting

·       Richard Feasey – Lecturer and consultant in the telecoms sector. Previously a director of Group Public Policy at Vodafone

·       Emma Parrott – Welsh Assembly Member 2011- 2016, Interim director at Community Transport Association for Wales.

It is likely that the Commission will play an important role in the upcoming developments associated with Transport for Wales and South Wales Metro projects, as the Welsh Government seeks to utilise the infrastructure possibilities available to create a better and more prosperous Wales for both the generations of today and those of the future.

To keep up with all things infrastructure related in Wales please keep an eye on this page and follow us on Twitter @Grasshopper_UK.